media blackout: after 30 days

A week after my media blackout and I was still having trouble sleeping and waking up with vivid dreams. The stimuli my brain was lacking was forcing it to create its own noise.

After a week, I allowed myself to read a fiction book. That allowed me to sleep.

After 2 weeks I allowed myself to watch crime dramas on Netflix.

I did make it to 30 days without news media. It was a welcome break, especially in the midst of the election. However, I did realize that I couldn’t avoid news altogether. My friends,co-workers and strangers were more than willing to expose me to random pieces of news. Fact or fiction, I had no way of knowing since I wouldn’t allow myself to verify sources. The inaccuracies through word of mouth were just as bad as the most biased news media. I realized I had lept out of the frying pan into the fire. 30 days after the blackout I was eager and ready to read an online paper again.

The experience caused me to appreciate the media in my life. In measured doses, it adds depth, a stimuli and entertainment. I may choose to fast again, but more as I would a planned food fast than an escape. I’ve accepted media as the enrichment to life that it is.

Leave a comment